Family Portrait- Christmas

img_2592

I had the high privilege to paint this portrait for a client this week. She loved my Monet-inspired family portrait so much that she requested I do one for her, too! The photo she gave me to work from gave me a neat idea. Instead of placing her two children in a Monet piece, as I did for the other family, I could use the inspiration of Monet, Van Gogh, and Klimt. I pulled Van Gogh for the walls and boxes; Monet for the children themselves, and Klimt’s The Lady in Gold for the floor and shoes. All three come together to make for a wonderful painting. I used mainly acrylic paint, with heavy use of oil paint, and finished the presents with 23K Gold Leaf to pay homage to Gustav Klimt’s masterpiece. It was a real joy to do this portrait and took me all but two days to complete.

Leave a Reply

