Girl with a Pearl Earring – Renoir

13055069_10208631281196253_2434063703408073038_o.jpg

Growing up, this painting was the most profound for me. Despite the darkness of her surroundings, the filth of her occupation/serfdom, she remains stoic and beautiful. In that is power. I never in a million years thought I could come close to the original. After, you know, growing up, evolving my skills, I searched for reproductions to buy. To my deep and bitter disappointment, the reproductions I saw were horrible. Horrid and inaccurate, even soulless. I figured I would give it a try myself. After 8 hours I came up with this. My goal was to create a painting that had life, that conveyed her energy and strength while staying true to the originals technique. My first attempt at Girl With A Pearl Earring.

Leave a Reply

